No, the supervisor units and the operative units are different and specific to operative and supervisory duties.

Although some providers may offer a reduced duration course. TUTS Group guarantee the highest quality of training and candidate support, therefore our NRSW course is the full 5-days.

The 5 day course is for experienced candidates. If the candidate is a complete novice, we offer an 8 day training course that covers all training elements also. 

Yes, if you have no knowledge or prior experience within the role, or are not familiar with the new specification, then we would strongly recommend that you attend the longer duration course.

NRSW must be delivered at an approved training location, which has been certified by the awarding body. It is possible to organise this for your site but may take a long time to arrange and be cost-inefficient.

No you do not need a CSCS card to qualify NRSW units.

Units 1-6 & 9 for Operatives and Units 1, 10-14 & 16 for Supervisors as standard. Units 7 & 15 are also available upon request.

No, NRSW is a qualification for working on public highways up to A-Road classification, dual carriageway with a cap at 60mph.

5 years from the point of expiry. Your card will expire after 5 years, you will then be able to renew your card (by attending the reassessment course) within 5 years.

In order to attend our 5-day course you should have at least 6 months of experience working on or around the public highway.

We internally verify all paperwork within 72hrs of course completion and request your certificates & cards at this time. Most certificates and cards are received within 4-6 weeks (depending on any delays with the awarding body).

Site Safety Plus

Your certificate is valid for 5 years

You can complete the relevant Refresher Course:

SMSTS – 2 day renewal

SSSTS 1 day renewal

There is not a grace period available, in order to complete a refresher course you must enrol on a course prior to the certificate expiry date.

No, however, you can complete the course via an online meeting platform, for example, Zoom or Teams.

Click here for course dates.

No, you do not receive a card on completion.


Under scheme rules, the CPCS Red card is non-renewable. CPCS will allow an extension upon registration of the NVQ Level 2. Subject to scheme rules.

CPCS Red Card should be progressed to CPCS Blue card within 2 years of qualification, via the OSAT NVQ route.

The CPCS Blue Card is valid for 5 years and can be renewed in accordance with scheme rules.

CPCS Plant operators categories, require you to have passed the CSCS HSE test within 2 years.

CPCS category A62 Crane supervisor requires a CSCS SPVR test passed within 2 years

CPCS category A61 Appointed Person, requires a CSCS MAP test passed within 2 years

If your organisation are CITB Levy contributors then TUTS Group will hold your hand through the grant claim process. Be sure to speak to our training team prior to booking.

If you are unsure, please contact us today.

Click here to list On & Off centre categories.

CPCS is the most recognised accreditation for plant operations within the construction industry. Other accreditations which are also recognised within the industry are available from TUTS Group:





If you operate plant outside of the construction industry, then speak to our training team to confirm the correct accreditation for you.

You only need a DVLA Driving licence to operate vehicles on the public highway.

Your card is automatically applied for as part of our ‘results processing’ procedure. Most cards are received within 1 – 2 weeks (depending on any delays with the Awarding Organisation).

We will issue you with a pass letter (upon achieving the standard) which will be accepted on site until your card is received.

Category Specific Questions

A58 will qualify you to operate an Excavator below 10-ton capacity.

A59 will qualify you to operate an excavator of all sizes.

Both categories will have an endorsement signified by an A or B. A means tracked, B means wheeled.

A = All Duties

B = Static Duties

C = Knuckle Boom – Static Duties Only

D = Excavator only

A17c allows you to operate a standard Telehandler of any size, with forks or attachments.

A77 is the category for the 360 slew or roto telehandler.

Level 2 Plant Operations

Level 4 Crane Supervisor A62

Level 5 Appointed Person (AP) A61


A Plant NVQ relates to the plant categories. CPCS Red Card holders can convert that Red card to a CPCS Blue Card via the NVQ.

The CSCS NVQ is a trade or skilled worker Blue Card e.g. Wood occupations/Roofing occupations.

The NVQ level 2 can be completed in 2 site visits.

Level 2 Blue Card

Level 3 & 4 Gold Card with the exception of A62 = Blue Card

Level 6 Black Card

You do not need any experience to begin a NVQ. You will need to gain experience and demonstrate knowledge & understanding prior to the completion of the NVQ.

Profile and Induction can and may be delivered at TUTS GROUP. The practical elements of the NVQ must be carried out on a live working site. Simulated work is not allowed.

You do not need to have a CSCS test to begin or complete your NVQ. You will, however, be unable to apply for any related CSCS or CPCS card.

Apple Construction Group only delivers the highest quality of training and service, therefore we do not access funding for NVQ categories. TUTS Group will work with you to apply for the CITB skills training fund grant, up to £10K.


NPORS is the National Plant Operators Registration Scheme. NPORS is the most widely recognised nationally accredited certification scheme for plant operators. NPORS is accepted on the majority of construction sites, as well as logistics, manufacturing, events, installations etc.

Yes, the majority of sites now accept NPORS. Please check with the PC on your site.

NPORS can be delivered at any site, subject to site requirements. Apple Construction Group deliver some NPORS categories at our flagship test Centre in Northampton shire.

Apple Construction GROUP is here to help. We are available to train & test on most Saturdays. Please note that some categories of training & testing have a small surcharge for delivery at weekends and out of normal trading hours.

Either holding an expired card for the specific category. A certification under another awarding body e.g. ITSSAR/IPAF etc. 2 years of demonstrable experience as a minimum, operating the specific plant.

Yes, you must ensure that you take, or have taken the NOCN Health Safety and Environment Test within the last 2 Years.

Yes, if you only use your nominated Plant category for a specific task you can receive an NPORS card specific to that duty.

The NPORS HSE Test card is valid for 2 Years.

The NPORS Card with the NOCN CSCS embossed logo is valid for 2 years.


A CITB Approved Training Organisation – or ATO – is an organisation which provides construction training courses and qualifications to a defined and industry-agreed training standard.

Yes, we operate 7 days a week – by prior agreement only.

Yes, depending on the course required. We have accommodated many clients over the years when working nightshifts.

Yes, if you are a Pro-forma client, we can arrange for you to pay in instalments. All monies must be received prior to course delivery.

Book a Course

Our team of friendly advisors are ready and waiting to help find the right course for you.